Photoshop for beginners.

February 15, 2010

DJ Empirical - Party Like It's Before 1990

DJ Empirical - Party Like It's Before 1990

Google Buzz is all up in my face when I get into my gmail, and most of it is “Its a Trap,” boobies, and people asking what Google Buzz is.  Its interesting to see that it does let you tap into posting from blogs, rss feeds of all sorts, and other small content sites (SCS for short?)

Seeing the Buzz entry on Party Like It’s Before 1990 re-introduced me to Race Car Productions, and their subset Aero, who have released a mix by one of the nicest and most library-vast DJs I’ve ever met, DJ Empirical.

The set is a concise journey into the styles I remember hearing hinted at on the radio by club djs that would try to slip some underground into their decidedly “Top 40” sets.  It was the sound that many producers pulled into the next generation on many of the labels that came to be the 1990’s underground forces especially in the electro and techno scenes.

When confronted with a selection set such as this, I have to ask myself, is composing a good mixtape about freshness, or about freshness of mind?

Leave a comment